Blooming

You know the feeling you get after a healthy dinner or an invigorating workout? I don’t, but I’ve heard these and other self-improving activities feel pretty great. Like you’re growing in real-time or something. That’s how I feel right now. Finally taking more writing classes and getting to know people in my major, have a talented writing partner who gives useful feedback, and went from knowing nothing about poetry to writing some pretty solid poems in just a few weeks (thanks to some excellent instruction). I’m even working on a chapbook (for class, but still!). And nothing is quite so beautiful as my house on a Saturday morning, when the living room is soaked in natural light and the smell of cinnamon french toast wafts through the house. This sort of luck almost makes life seem charming.

Other stuff:

  • Blonde by Frank Ocean has been on heavy rotation lately. So good. Other musical finds: nostalgia,ULTRA by Frank Ocean, Blue and Court and Spark by Joni Mitchell, and Liz Phair’s Girlysound Tapes (the demos she recorded before Exile in Guyville).
  • Pumpkin Spice Lattes are back and I can now die happily. When I saw them on the menu the other day I literally gasped in line.
  • For a while I refused to watch anime. In middle and high school I was deep into that life, so as part of my attempts to erase that part of my background, I’ve avoided anime like the plague or calculus. But today I finished Puella Magi Madoka Magica and it’s amazing. Thankfully I remembered the most important rule of anime watching: always subbed, never dubbed. Just praying I don’t go full weeb.
  • CARMILLA SEASON 3 ACT 1 IS OUT! Dominique and I binged it on Saturday and it was definitely worth the wait. That said, if they make me wait another million years I’ll slit my throat and drink my own blood.
  • Got coffee with one of the aforementioned cool new writer friends and it was really fun 🙂 They had the farmer’s market on campus so I bought 9 churros for $3 and we split them with our drinks and talked for a few hours. Hoping we’ll hang out again.
  • If you’ve never read Eve Babitz, you need to read Eve Babitz. I’m reading Slow Days, Fast Company and she’s funny, entertaining, charming, and an excellent writer. And, like much in her life, she makes it seem so easy.
Leave a Reply

