Full Reset

My novel draft was already suffering from my lack of planning (no subplots, far too short, etc.) but when I realized a few days ago that a major structural change wasn’t working, I decided to set what I’d written aside, take a few days to outline, and start a new draft. I’d attempted a two-setting novel in two parts, but all the tension and character dynamics in Part 1 were lost when the main character went to the new setting in Part 2, so I scrapped it, and once I did that it seemed best to address the other issues too. Most people caution against restarting a first draft since you might never finish if you keep going back. For a time I listened, pushing forward despite my doubts. Now that it’s clearly wrong, though, I’m trying something else. No sense in holding on to a failing strategy (in writing or life). The outlining has been going well so far, and hopefully it’ll lead to a stronger story. Worst comes to worst, I’ll still have what I’ve already written to fall back on.

Other stuff:

  • I’m the assistant dramaturg for The Yard x Steppenwolf’s reading of Eclipsed by Danai Gurira (an excellent play by the way). I wasn’t gonna do anything but read and write this summer, but I was offered the position and it seemed cool so I said yes. I then googled what a dramaturg was. My only production experience is being in the PR crew for a play as a high school freshman, so this is definitely a step out of my comfort zone. It’s been going well so far though 🙂
  • In more theater news, I saw Mary Page Marlowe and enjoyed it. Especially liked the structure: a non-chronological account of Mary Page Marlowe’s life with seven actresses playing her at different life stages.
  • The only thing more entertaining than watching a play is arriving early and people-watching before the play starts. A man a few rows behind me was reading about the performers in the play guide. He then asked his friend, “Why are there so many Mary Page Marlowes?”After his friend explained it, another of their friends said, “Oh, I thought they just had a lot of understudies.”
  • Why did no one tell me about Love & Friendship earlier? Saw it today and it was great. It’s a movie adaptation of Lady Susan by Jane Austen, an excellent epistolary novella she wrote when she was 19. As if that’s not great enough, it’s getting rave reviews. Can’t believe I’ve been blessed with this and Pride and Prejudice and Zombies in the same year.
  • Staying at home all day is boring but also the only thing I’m interested in doing.
  • I did end up getting a ticket to for the Louis Vuitton America’s Cup World Series. Going on Friday since those had the cheapest tickets. It’s not a race day (it’s just the practice day) but it should still be pretty cool. Hoping for a nice turnout. Also hoping to meet my rich, posh, gorgeous future wife. If you’re wondering what it’s like, here’s the promotional video.
  • A friend hooked me up with a gig serving at an anniversary brunch for her friend’s mom this weekend and I’m hoping it doesn’t bite. On the plus side she pays well so that’s exciting.
  • Gone With The Wind is the truth. Am about 550 pages in so far and loving it. Only 900 pages to go!
4 comments

    1. It was really cool 🙂 It was hot, which was tiring at times, but a lot of people came out to the event and it was enjoyable even though I didn’t know much about the sport going in. Plus there were two capsizes in a row, so I definitely feel I got my money’s worth. Would recommend it.

      Like

      1. Yeah. The boats go really fast and while no one was hurt capsizing today, one can lose limbs or die when that happens. An Olympic gold medalist died in a practice race in 2013 when his team’s boat capsized.

        Like

Leave a Reply

